This year’s annual (AFRIMMA) African Muzik Magazine Awards and Music Festival features 28 artists from Coke Studio Africa 2017 securing nomination spots. The Music Awards will be held on 7th October, 2018 at House of Blues Dallas in USA.

In July this year, the nominees were unveiled in which Coke Studio Africa 2017 artists were revealed to be in the nomination including: Nasty C, Yemi Alade, Sauti Sol, Jah Prayzah, Khaligraph Jones, Eddy Kenzo, Nyashinski, Bebe Cool, Alikiba, Rayvanny, Olamide, Mafikizolo, Falz, Locko, Chidinma, Sheebah, Busiswa, Runtown, Shekhinah, Nandy, Tresor, Patoranking, Navy Kenzo, Mi Casa, Ykee Benda and Anselmo Ralph who managed to make the cut.

South African rapper Nasty C is leading with 5 nominations and following closely is Kenyan music band Sauti Sol and Reggae/Dancehall artist Patoranking with 3 nominations each. Coke Studio Africa 2017 producers Killbeatz and Masterkraft are nominated in the category of Producer of the Year.

South African rapper Nasty C and Nigerian artist Runtown bagged two major nominations for Song of the Year and Collabo of the Year. Nasty C and Runtown are said to be the two Africa’s biggesst stars According to Coke Studio Africa 2017 original composition. Nasty C has been nominated for Artist of the Year alongside other Coke Studio Africa 2017 South African music group: Mafikizolo, and Best Male Artist Southern Africa, the latter alongside Tresor (Congolese/South Africa) and Jah Prayzah—the Zimbabwean music general who were also part of Coke Studio Africa 2017.


Uganda’s Ykee Benda commendably bagged a nomination for Best Newcomer after a Big Breakthrough in Coke Studio Africa 2017. He made his debut on Coke Studio Africa last year collaborating with Jah Prayzah from Zimbabwe and Mozambican artiste Mr. Bow as one of the show’s Big Break acts.