Johhny Drille
Johhny Drille

Nigerian Afro-folk artist Johnny Drille has dropped his long-awaited debut album Before We Fall Asleep. An extensive, 14-track release, Before We Fall Asleep sees Johnny tap into the sombre, romance-fueled acoustic sound that he has become synonymous with in recent years.

The album kicks off with ‘More’, a rousing track that combines orchestral strings with empowering lyrics. Johnny’s latest single ‘Loving Is Harder’ is a heart-on-sleeve ballad that sees Johnny shine a light on a dysfunctional relationship amidst the most delicate of piano chords.

The vibrant, lo-fi official video for ‘Loving Is Harder’ expertly captures this dysfunction in visual form. ‘Ludo’ is a track that again sees the Benin City-born artist draw on his unique talent for candid self-expression.

Further highlights come in the form of the majestic ‘Before I Let Go’, impassioned ‘Clocks’ and soaring vocals of ‘Sweet As A Mother’s Love’. Johnny also collaborates with the Lagos Community Gospel Choir, Cill and Kwittee on the rock-infused ‘Sister’.

Things are then closed out with ‘Sell My Soul’, a powerful ballad that explores themes of dignity, self-worth and exploitation.

Citing the likes of Ed Sheeran, Coldplay, Jon Bellion, Asa, MI and Don Jazzy as influences, Johnny is best known for 2016 single ‘Wait For Me’ and 2018’s ‘Halleluya’, a collaboration with Afro-pop singer Simi.

That same year he hosted his debut concert series Johnny’s Room Live, with 4500 fans present across two shows held in Nigeria’s landmark cities Lagos and Abuja.

Throughout last year, Johnny released previous singles ‘Mystery Girl’ and ‘Something Better’. Johnny Drille’s maiden album successfully captures the emotional, heart-on-sleeve sound he has been cultivating throughout his whole musical career.

Johnny Drille - Before We Fall Asleep Tracklist

1. ‘More’

2. ‘Loving Is Harder’

3. ‘Ludo’

4. ‘Ova’

5. ‘Odo’

6. ‘Driving In The Rain’

7. ‘Before I Let Go’

8. ‘In The Light’

9. ‘Clocks’

10. ‘Lies (To Whom It Concerns)’

11. ‘Lost In The Rhythm’

12. ‘Sweet As A Mother’s Love’

13. ‘Sister’ feat Lagos Community Choir, Cill, Kwittee

14. ‘Sell My Soul’