amin mohamed DCI Boss
amin mohamed DCI Boss

Mohamed Amin, director of criminal investigations, reorganized top commanders of significant directorate units as he put together the group he will work with to carry out his mandate.

All units at the DCI headquarters and major divisions were affected by the changes touching 66 officers and aimed at checking the rising rate of crime in the country.

He had also disbanded the anti-counterfeit unit based at the Parklands DCI and moved all officers there.

In the changes, Amin moved the head of Land Fraud Unit George Mutonya to the Trans National Organised Crime Unit, Gigiri’s DCIO Peter Kiboro to Nyamira County on promotion as the County Criminal Investigations Officer and Langata’s Samuel Kobina to Nyanza as the county boss.

Bomet County Criminal Investigations Officer (CCIO) Judith Kinara was moved to DCI headquarters and named the deputy head of the legal unit, Adan Guyo (DCI Investigations), Daniel Kandie (DCI Investigations), Peter Mbuvi (CCIO Kericho), Martin Otieno (CCIO Samburu), Linus Owango (OC Insurance Unit) and Jimmy Kisobo (deputy Crime Research and Intelligence Bureau).

Mohamed Riziki was posted to West Pokot as the CCIO, Michael Sang moved back to DCI headquarters as the head of the Serious Crimes Unit while former Kilimani DCIO Fatuma Hadi was named the deputy head of personnel at the DCI.

Head of Economic and Commercial Crime Unit Michael Muia was moved to Baringo and named the CCIO, Kilimani DCIO Stephene Tanki was moved to Migori as the CCIO, Head of Fichua Unit David Chebii (Tana River CCIO) while Lawrence Nthiwa was moved to DCI headquarters and named the officer in charge of Forensics Unit.

The Officer in charge of investigations at City Hall Abdullahi Shuria was named the new boss at the ECCU as his former unit was disbanded, Aggrey Okoth (Deputy director of operations), Samuel Bett (CCIO Kitui), Anthony Muriithi (Deputy Director Forensics), Jason Mworia (DCI Academy) while Wilhelm Kimtai was named the new boss at Land Fraud Unit.

Kasarani DCIO Vincent Kipkorir was moved to Nairobi Area Command, Daniel Musangi (Ngong DCIO), Peter Wahome (Mt Elgon DCIO), Daniel Onsarigo (CCIO Kirinyaga), Kassim Baricha (North Horr DCIO), Daniel Ngetich (DCIO Buruburu), David Cheruiyot (DCIO Starehe), former Langata DCIO Abdurashid Yakub (Kilimani DCIO) and Charles Kimalate (Langata DCIO).

Robert Mureithi will serve as Nairobi Central DCIO, Jimmy Kimaru (Kasarani DCIO), Robinson Cherenje (Gigiri DCIO), Michael Ndege (Bura DCIO), George Marimi (Kirinyaga Central DCIO), Charles Muriithi (Borabu DCIO), Gilbert Kitalia (Tana Delta DCIO), Martin Kilonzo (Armorer DCI) and Robert Kiinge will be at Changamwe.

The move was seen as part of efforts to have a new team to work with Amin.

The anti-counterfeit team was tasked with dealing with contraband goods that are said to have found their way into the market.

Amin transferred all senior commanders of this unit only leaving the junior officers.

Five senior officers of the rank of Chief Inspector and Inspector of Police and who commanded the team were transferred.

The unit boss Chief Inspector Nathan Njoroge was moved to Takaba DCI office in Mandera. Jacob Kathurima also from the same unit has been moved to DCI Turkana South.

The changes affected 37 officers in the ranks of Inspector and Chief Inspector of Police.

The anti-counterfeit team was the last unit crafted by former DCI boss George Kinoti that had been left untouched.

On October 16, then-acting Inspector General of Police Noor Gabow announced that he had disbanded the DCI Special Service Unit (SSU).