African countries that have Anti-LGBTQ laws

In 2021-2022 we saw the spread of the LGBTQ movement to different parts of the world.

Most states have been receptive to it and Uganda just recently joined the list of countries that have a law against same-sex relations.

In Uganda, one is subjected to the death penalty, life imprisonment, or between 10 and 20 years in prison for “Attempted homosexuality” and “promotion of homosexuality”.

This law varies from one country to the other with some banning specific acts while others banning the whole existence of being an LGBTQ community member.

Despite the USA trying to sanction countries that have this anti-homosexual law passed as they believe that everyone should be allowed to live freely despite their sexual orientation.

In some countries, they actually go a step further to pursue and persecute people who are gay, lesbian, transgender, or bisexual.

People face things like the death penalty, life imprisonment, or fines.

Some countries have also banned and considered it criminal for women or men to dress and pose as the other gender in public places.

You cannot enter public spaces designated for men or women and management is allowed to prevent you from entering.

Here is a list of countries where their anti-LGBTQ laws are based on same-sex relations.

  1. Algeria
  2. Gambia
  3. Malawi
  4. Tunisia
  5. Uganda
  6. Zambia

In some countries, laws are against people displaying affection and identifying as LGBTQ members.

  1. Nigeria
  2. Mauritania
  3. Sudan
  4. Somalia

There are a few countries though that are in the process of decriminalizing the homosexuality laws.

  1. Angola
  2. Cape Verde
  3. Cote d'Ivoire
  4. Lesotho
  5. Rwanda

It is still not 100 percent safe in countries that have laws protecting the rights of LGBTQ members, some face criminal acts from the regular citizen.

being homosexual is something that has been considered un-African and ungodly hence why some countries are still rigid about accepting it.

Read also