Hassan Mugambi, Joshua Arap Sang, Francis Gachuri,Mwanaisha Chidzuga and Chemutai Goin

After 2022 general election, a good number of media personalities ditched the newsroom after landing lucrative jobs with the county and national government.

Just the day, Journalist Chemutai Goin announced that she was leaving Citizen TV after 5 years. She has landed a new job in Speaker Moses Wetangula’s office.

At the same time,  Hassan Mugambi will be leaving Citizen TV for a new job in CS Aden Duale’s office.


Last year journalist Francis Gachuri left Citizen TV after landing a new job in the Interior Ministry.

Another Citizen TV journalist Sam Ogina left for a job in the office of the Majority leader at the National Assembly.

Former Citizen TV news anchor Hussein Mohamed was appointed State House Deputy Spokesman while former KTN news anchor Mike Gitonga was appointed Secretary State Functions.


Political leaders often rely on journalists to head communication departments because of their expertise and experience in the field of media and communication.

16 media personalities who recently ditched the screen for government jobs 

Hassan Mugambi – (Citizen TV) – CS Aden Duale’s office

Chemutai Goin (Citizen TV) – Office of the Speaker (National Assembly)

Joshua Arap Sang (Kass FM) – State House (Communication team)

Mwanaisha Chidzuga (TV47) – Deputy Government Spokesperson

Sam Ogina (Citizen TV) – Office of the Majority leader (National Assembly)

Francis Gachuri (Citizen TV) – Director of Communication, Ministry of Interior

Salim Swaleh (NTV) – Director of the press service, office of the prime cabinet secretary

Kennedy Muriithi (NTV) - Political advisor, Tharaka Nthini County

Mike Gitonga (KTN) - Secretary State Functions.

Karen Karimi (TV47) - Director of Communications, Kilifi County

Nick Gitonga (CITIZEN TV) - Director of communication Kwale County

Anders Ihachi (K24) – Communication officer, office of the Prime Cabinet Secretary.

Hussein Mohamed (CITIZEN TV)  – State House Spokesperson

Charles Odhiambo (RAMOGI FM) – Chief of Staff Homa Bay County

John Nalianya (THE STAR NEWSPAPER) – Head of communications Bungoma County

Dennis Onsarigo (KTN) - Chief of Staff Nyamira County (Resigned a few weeks ago).

Read Also: