The Late Genral Francis Ogolla

President William Ruto, the Commander-in-Chief of the Defence Forces has officially announced the death of Chief of Defence Forces General Francis Ogolla.

Addressing the nation from the State House, the Head of State of State paid tribute to all the officers who perished in the chopper accident.

Ruto went on to name all the officers who died in the KDF chopper crash;

Brig. Swaleh Saidi

Col. Duncan Keitany

Lt. Col. David Sawe

 Major George Benson Magondu (who was also the pilot)

Capt. Sorah Mohamed

 Capt. Hillary Litali

Senior Sergeant John Kinywa Mureithi

 Sgt. Cliffonce Omondi and

 Sgt. Rose Nyawira.

"I'm deeply saddened to announce the passing on of Chief of Defence Forces General Francis Ogolla," he said in his address at State House, Nairobi.

At the same time,  President William Ruto announced a three-day mourning period for the late Chief of Defence Forces Francis Ogolla.

The President said Ogolla diead Thursday afternoon alongside nine other military officers at Tot, Elgeyo Marakwet.

"The nation will observe three days of mourning commencing April 19, 2024," the President said at State House, Nairobi.