Azimio La Umoja members

Azimio la Umoja has announced plans to recall MPs from its coalition who voted in favor of the Finance Bill 2024.

This decision comes in response to the MPs' support for the bill, which contradicts the coalition's stand and has sparked dissatisfaction among its members.

The recall process involves collecting signatures from constituents and filing a petition with the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) to initiate a by-election.

Azimio aims to demonstrate its commitment to its policies and hold accountable those who deviate from the coalition's agreed positions.

Azimio's leadership believes that the recall will send a strong message to its members about the importance of adhering to the coalition's policies and decisions.

This move also highlights the coalition's efforts to align with public sentiment, as many Kenyans have voiced opposition to the Finance Bill due to its perceived negative impact on the economy and livelihoods.

The MPs targeted for recall include:

1. Elisha Odhiambo MP Gem Constituency

2. Gideon Ochanda MP Bondo constituency

3. Caroli Omondi MP Suba South Constituency

4.Emmanuel Wangwe MP Navakholo

5.Memusi Kanchory MP Kajiado Central

6. Benard Shinali MP Ikolomani

"The ODM party shall initiate and lead the recall processes in the constituencies in light of the current office holders repeated violation of their sacred oath and the wishes of the electorate," Edwin Sifuna said.

According to the party leadership, the decision was reached during a meeting of the party's central committee.