How to use love languages on yourself

Loving yourself through your love languages could help get more in tune with yourself

Self love
Image: Pinterest

When you get into a relationship there is a way you want to be loved, that is what love experts call love languages.

Words of affirmation, acts of service, receiving gifts, physical touch, and quality time are the five known love languages and they are applicable even to oneself.

You do not need to wait for the one and only for you to start experiencing the languages of love.

There are ways you can do this for yourself, for you, by you.

Loving yourself through your love languages could help get more in tune with yourself by learning in-depth what works for you and what does not.

This way, you get to discover if the languages you picked are right for you or if you have developed a new liking.

Here is how one can use love languages for themselves when single person;

1. Quality time

In a relationship it would mean spending time with your partner, when you are single you can instead learn a skill. 

Going for solo dates or trips is also a way to spend quality time by yourself, it does not have to be something expensive or over the roof.

A well-cooked meal with a glass of wine you have been dying to try will just do.

One could also watch a film or take a nature walk, sometimes being outside with the trees could bring you a sense of tranquility you have been longing to feel.  

Get lost in your hobbies, as we grow up "life happens" and we become out of touch with what we once loved.

2. Physical touch

This is a form of physical contact with your own body.

Practice your skincare routine and ensure it is consistent, this is the only way to get results.  

When you look good, you feel good.

Take a long and proper bath that includes shaving, exfoliating, and moisturizing.

If you feel like you would prefer physical contact with someone else but in a way that it is just you, get a massage done.

3. Receiving gifts

Do not wait for someone to buy you gifts, buy a little something for yourself.

You see those shoes you have been wanting to get, get them.

If that watch that you cannot stop staring at, buy it.

That boom box that just came in despite the fact that you already have another one, why not?

Pesa itarudi no?

Gifting yourself can also be done through investing in a business, if all goes well, you get good returns. 

4. Words of affirmation

This might be one of the hardest love languages one would have to give to themselves knowing that most people have that critical voice inside their heads.  

One would have to learn how to talk positively to themselves.

You could start by trying to compliment yourself when you feel you look good or storing a gratitude journal where you write down things you love about yourself. 

5. Acts of service 

This type of love language involves doing activities that make life easier for you. 

It could be cleaning up your space or even completing just one task on your to-do list.  

Some may not see how this would fit as a love language for themselves, considering the fact that it works well when someone else is involved in assisting you with the tasks. 

But the sense of satisfaction you will get from it is the same as that of carrying someone's baby for the first time and they do not cry.  

Read Also: