The year 2022 saw a good number of Kenyan celebrities try their hand at politics after building successful careers in their various respective fields.

Some were successful while others did not even make it to the ballot paper on August 8, 2022.

The 2017 General Election witnessed a number of media personalities and entertainers get elected into the National Assembly. Among them Charles Njagua 'Jaguar', Naisula Lessuda, Gathoni Wamuchomba, Sabina Chege, Mohamed Ali, Granton Samboja.

Here is a list of entertainers who joined politics in 2022.


Celebrated media personality and comedian Felix Odiwour, popularly known as Jalang’o, was vying for the Lang’ata parliamentary seat.

He won the seat on an ODM ticket after defeating UDA’s Nixon Korir.

Davidson Ngibuini aka DNG

Seasoned media personality Davidson Ngibuini, popularly known as DNG, vied and won the MCA seat for the Woodley, Kenyatta Golf Course Ward, in Nairobi County.

MC Jessy

Comedian MC Jessy vied for the South Imenti parliamentary seat as an independent candidate after failing to secure the UDA ticket.

He did not win.


On January 13, gospel singer Roy Smith Mwatia alias Rufftone, joined DP Ruto’s party - UDA, to vie for the Nairobi senatorial seat.

He however bagged out all the way and supported Millicent Omanga.

Jamal Gaddffi

Former KTN presenter Jamal Gaddafi was going for the Malindi parliamentary seat.

Jamal parted ways with KTN on January 2022, to focus on his political ambitions.

He however stepped down along the way.


P-Unit member Gabriel Kagundu was vying for the MCA seat Woodley, Kenyatta Golf Course Ward, Nairobi County.

“Watu wangu wa Woodley Kenyatta Golf Course hii ndio time yetu,” said Gabu.

He did not win.


P-Unit rapper Francis Amisi aka Frasha was vying for the AthiRiver MCA seat.

“Athi River iko Fresh Na Frasha, your voters' card is your change weapon,” Frasha said.

He also did not win.

Tony Kwalanda

Former Switch TV presenter Tony Kwalanda joined politics towards the end of 2021 to vie for the Manda Shivanga Ward in the Malava constituency.

He did not win.

Njoroge Wa Njoroge

On January 21, 2022, Njoroge Wa Njoroge confirmed that he had officially joined UDA and will be vying for the Njoro constituency parliamentary seat during the General Election.

He was received by DP Ruto, Kiharu MP Ndindi Nyoro, and Kikuyu legislator Kimani Ichungwa at the DP's Karen residence.

Njoroge Wa Njoroge did not win the seat.

Njambi Koikai

 Popular radio presenter and reggae emcee Mary Njambi Koikai, also known as Jahmby Fyah Mummah, announced plans to vie for the Dagoretti South parliamentary seat.

The veteran reggae emcee laid down the issues she is going to address if elected Member of Parliament (MP) at the August 9, 2022 polls.

However, she did not win the seat.

Maji Maji

Ghetto radio presenter Julius Owino, also known as Maji Maji, was hoping to get the Seme parliamentary seat but that did not go as per his plans.

Kelvin Daniel aka Kijana Pat Pat

Former radio Host Kelvin Daniel Migongo was vying for the Nakuru senatorial seat on Chama Cha Kazi ticket before joining Jubilee.

He stepped down a few weeks before the general election.


Kenyan rapper Jackson Ngechu Makini who is popularly known as Prezzo declared interest in the Kasarani Parliamentary seat.

He did not win.

Mwanaisha Chidzuga

Former K24 TV news anchor Mwanaisha Chidzuga has been endorsed by her family to go for the Matuga parliamentary seat.

However, she did not win.

Read Also;