Supreme Court backs IEBC announcement of Ruto as president

The supreme court judges announced that they were no differences between Forms 34A uploaded on the public portal and the physical Forms 34A delivered to Bomas

His win as the 5th president has been re-affirmed
Deputy president William Ruto in Nike Dunk Shoes His win as the 5th president has been re-affirmed

A 7 judge bench at the Supreme Court on Monday afternoon delivered its verdict on the presidential petition filed by Azimio la Umoja One Kenya presidential candidate Raila Odinga.

Raila was seeking to overturn the win of Deputy President William Ruto of UDA as the 5th President-elect following the August 9 polls.

The judges after deliberations settled on reinstating president elect William Ruto as the 5th president of Kenya, throwing ut Raila's petition disputing Ruto's win. 


While making the delivery Chief Justice Martha Koome shared that according to their assessment there was no significant differences captured between the Forms 34A uploaded on the public portal and the physical Forms 34A delivered to Bomas that would have affected the overall outcome of the presidential election


She also noted that IEBC had opened its registry to the public for a period of 30 days and the board had not suffered any apparent anomalies as the scrutiny report prepared by the register of the court did not show any security breaches of the IEBC servers. 

" In compliance with section 6A of the election's act of 2011, IEBC opened the register of voters for verification for bio-metric data by the public for a period of 30 days... there after KPMG audited the register and we are satisfied that the inaccuracies identified in the audit where somewhat successfully addressed." Judge Koome said.


6 days after general elections were, IEBC Chairperson Chebukati announced president-elect William Samoei Ruto as the 5th president of Kenya following the completion of tallying.

The results were as follows: 

William Ruto-7,176,141 (50.49 %)

Raila Odinga- 6,942,930 votes ( 48.85%)

Waihiga Mwaura. 31987--0.23 %

George Wajackoya 61969- 0.44%

However,IEBC Vice Chair Person, Juliana Whonge Cherera ,through a presser at Serena Hotel distanced herself from the Presidential results.

She and  three other IEBC agents said they were not responsible for the Presidential results announced.

"We cannot take ownership of the results that are going to be announced. Because of the opec nature of the last phase of the general election." Cherera said. 

The 7 judges presiding over the case were Chief Justice Martha Koome, deputy Chief Justice Philomena Mwilu, justices Issac Lenaola, Njoki Ndung'u, Ibrahim Mohammed, Smokin Wanjala and William Ouko

Read also: 

WATCH: For the latest videos on entertainment stories